Cloud Journal



VMWare Powers Up vFabric Suite With Much More Agility

Written by  Raja Rao | 31 May 2012
E-mail PDF

vSphereVMware, Inc., the global leader in virtualization and cloud infrastructure, has taken the next step in PAAS offering by providing automation capabilities of VMWare cloud infrastructure and introduction of in-memory distributed SQL Database with its VMWare vFabric Suite 5.1.

By combining the market-leading Spring development framework, the latest generation of vFabric application services and a per-VM licensing model, vFabric Suite 5.1 will provide the core application platform for building, deploying and running modern applications.

The push for this enhanced suite revolves around providing agility to developers and enterprises with application deployment automation using vFabric Application Director, address dynamic scalability and performance requirements for modern day multi channel applications by powering them with vFabric SQLFire, an in-memory distributed SQL database.

The suite also includes VFabric Postgres, an alternate relational SQL database enabling users to leverage open source databases and also supports developer essential opensource environments including Apache Tomcat, Apache HTTP Server and RabbitMQ messaging. 

vSphere Suite
VMWare has also released BOSH, similar paas toolset for its opensource offering Cloud Foundry. This fundamentally differs from vFabric Application Director which provisions vFabric Suite components, as well as third party middle-ware components from Oracle, IBM, Red Hat, and others. VMware vFabric Suite 5.1 is expected to be available in Q2 2012.  It will be licensed per VM with prices starting at $1,500 per VM.

The company is aware of importance of emerging platforms and standards that will hold key to its business and has announced validation of its vSphere, VMWare's virtualization platform for building cloud infrastructures to run SAP database powered portfolio and also achievement of Common Criteria EAL4+ Certification. Common Criteria is an international set of guidelines (ISO 15408) that provides a common framework for evaluating security features and capabilities of Information Technology (IT) security products, and EAL4+ is the highest assurance level that is recognized globally by all signatories under the Common Criteria Recognition Agreement (CCRA).

Raja Rao

Raja Rao

RajaRao is our Cloud Journalist writing for ToolsJournal on Cloud Tools, Latest updates, Cloud Quick Lists and more. He has done his Bachelors of Engineering in Civil and has been in IT for over 15 years with good expertise on CRM, Peoplesoft, SAP, Microsoft and .Net technologies. Raja comes with fantastic blend of Technical, Solutions and Delivery expertise. Loving the concept of ToolsJournal he has joined us full time and has been tremendous help to take this portal forward. 

You can reach Raja at 

blog comments powered by Disqus